2 Jul 2019

Brexit Party MEPs turn backs on EU anthem at European Parliament opening

After days of deadlock, EU leaders have begun proposing their new leadership team, nominating Germany’s Defence Minister Ursula von der Leyen as the new President of the European Commission, with Belgium’s Prime Minister Charles Michel heading the European Council.

Another big-name appointment is on the cards too, with IMF chief Christine Lagarde to become President of the European Central Bank. All this was after the new European parliamentary session in Strasbourg began in some chaos.