No time for ads? Find out moreStream 1500 shows without ads. Find out more
Series 1 Episode 1

Acclaimed US political drama that takes a behind-the-scenes look at the inner workings of the White House under President Josiah Bartlet's administration

In the early hours of the morning, senior White House staff gather to tackle the latest crises. Dozens of refugees from Cuba are seeking asylum and the President faces ridicule for a biking mishap.

Drama

The first series of the epic drama created by renowned screenwriter Aaron Sorkin. The President and his passionate staff handle crises and score triumphs during Bartlet's first term in office.

Pilot: In the early morning hours, senior White House staff gather to handle the latest crises

First shown: Thu 18 Jan 2001 | 41 mins

Series 1 Episode 1

Post Hoc, Ergo Propter Hoc: CJ tries to defuse a dispute between Bartlet and the Vice President. Leo hires Mandy.

First shown: Thu 25 Jan 2001 | 40 mins

Series 1 Episode 2

A Proportional Response: The press get wind of Sam's relationship with Laurie. The President seeks revenge.

First shown: Thu 1 Feb 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 3

Five Votes Down: The team have 72 hours to rescue a gun control bill. Leo's wife loses patience with him.

First shown: Thu 8 Feb 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 4

The Crackpots and These Women: Leo forces his staff to meet with fringe groups. Toby discovers an unsettling secret.

First shown: Thu 15 Feb 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 5

Mr Willis of Ohio: A new representative surprises Toby. Sam gives CJ some private tuition.

First shown: Thu 22 Feb 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 6

The State Dinner: The President keeps his eye on pressing issues while preparing for a state dinner

First shown: Thu 1 Mar 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 7

Enemies: Word gets out that Bartlet embarrassed the Vice President. A crucial bill is put at risk.

First shown: Thu 8 Mar 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 8

The Short List: A representative makes a serious accusation against the White House staff

First shown: Thu 15 Mar 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 9

In Excelsis Deo: Toby makes sure that a homeless Korean War veteran gets the funeral he deserves

First shown: Thu 22 Mar 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 10

Lord John Marbury: When India invades Kashmir, Bartlet seeks the help of an eccentric British diplomat

First shown: Thu 29 Mar 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 11

He Shall, from Time to Time: While preparing for the State of the Union address, Bartlet is struck down by an illness

First shown: Thu 5 Apr 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 12

Take Out the Trash Day: CJ grapples with the ethics of burying news that deserves public attention

First shown: Thu 12 Apr 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 13

Take This Sabbath Day: Bartlet must decide if he wants to commute the sentence of a prisoner on death row

First shown: Thu 19 Apr 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 14

Celestial Navigation: Bartlet's choice for the new Supreme Court Justice is arrested for allegedly drunk driving

First shown: Thu 26 Apr 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 15

20 Hours in LA: The President and his staff fly to Los Angeles to attend a star-studded fundraiser

First shown: Thu 3 May 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 16

The West House Pro-Am: The President and First Lady's separate staff feud over rival agendas

First shown: Thu 10 May 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 17

Six Meetings Before Lunch: CJ struggles to keep the press at bay when Zoey attends a party that gets busted for drugs

First shown: Thu 17 May 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 18

Let Bartlet Be Bartlet: An inflammatory memo Mandy wrote about the President and his staff comes back to haunt her

First shown: Thu 24 May 2001 | 41 mins

Series 1 Episode 19

Mandatory Minimums: The President announces two contentious nominations for the Federal Election Commission

First shown: Fri 25 May 2001 | 42 mins

Series 1 Episode 20

Advertisement