No time for ads? Find out moreStream 1500 shows without ads. Find out more

Hajj - the great pilgrimage to Mecca - is a journey that every Muslim, with the means to, must make before they die. This series examines what this means to a variety of believers.

Factual

With Muslims undertaking the Hajj, convert Simon explains the first pillar of Islam

First shown: Mon 3 Feb 2003 | 3 mins

Episode 1

Two schooboys explain the second pillar, prayer, as thousands of Muslims prepare for Hajj

First shown: Tue 4 Feb 2003 | 3 mins

Episode 2

Businessman Shezad explains the third pillar Zagat

First shown: Wed 5 Feb 2003 | 3 mins

Episode 3

Halal butcher Abdul Malik explains the fourth pillar, fasting during Ramadan

First shown: Thu 6 Feb 2003 | 3 mins

Episode 4

A journey every Muslim, with the means to, must make, this sacred duty is the final pillar

First shown: Fri 7 Feb 2003 | 3 mins

Episode 5

Kosser, Serfraz and fellow pilgrims must leave Mecca and head for Mina in the desert

First shown: Mon 10 Feb 2003 | 9 mins

Episode 6

After sunrise, the pilgrims head to the Plains of Arafat to spend the day praying

First shown: Tue 11 Feb 2003 | 8 mins

Episode 7

The pilgrims have spent a night out in the open in the desert at a place called Muzdalifah

First shown: Wed 12 Feb 2003 | 8 mins

Episode 8

The piligrims have to throw pebbles at stone pillars to symbolise casting out the devil

First shown: Thu 13 Feb 2003 | 8 mins

Episode 9

The final day of Hajj, and for pilgirms it's time to leave Mina and return to Mecca

First shown: Fri 14 Feb 2003 | 9 mins

Episode 10

Five young people from around the world prepare to make the greatest trip on earth, Hajj

First shown: Sat 8 Feb 2003 | 50 mins

Episode 11

Our five pilgrims have had a once-in-a-lifetime experience at Hajj. Or have they?

First shown: Sat 15 Feb 2003 | 50 mins

Episode 12

Advertisement