River Cottage
Join Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and friends in his Dorset cottage, as he forages for wild food, grows his own produce and rears his own stock
Lifestyle

Hugh moves into his cottage. He buys a pig, forages for food and befriends the locals.

First shown: Sun 14 Feb 1999 | 24 mins

Hugh turns his attentions to the River Piddle and pike fishing

First shown: Sun 21 Feb 1999 | 24 mins

The vegetable garden is in full swing and Hugh is spoilt for choice

First shown: Sun 28 Feb 1999 | 24 mins

Hugh discovers an infestation of mice and calls in a 'humane disposal team'

First shown: Sun 7 Mar 1999 | 25 mins

Hugh commissions basket-maker Malcolm Seal to make an old-fashioned wickerwork eel trap

First shown: Sun 14 Mar 1999 | 24 mins

Hugh prepares a party for his friends who've helped him and learns how to catch razor fish

First shown: Sun 21 Mar 1999 | 24 mins

Hugh prepares a festive Yuletide feast of traditional glazed ham and mince pies

First shown: Fri 24 Dec 1999 | 24 mins

Hugh rents a four-acre field, buys livestock and takes part in a nettle-eating competition

First shown: Sun 2 Jan 2000 | 24 mins

Hugh has problems with some uncooperative chickens and troublesome rabbits

First shown: Sun 9 Jan 2000 | 24 mins

Hugh donates one of his pigs to his landlord's medieval fair to raise money for charity

First shown: Sun 16 Jan 2000 | 24 mins