No time for ads? Find out moreStream 1500 shows without ads. Find out more

Classic satirical sitcom set in the studios of Globelink News TV. An unpopular and unprincipled Chief Executive struggles to control a doggedly dysfunctional news team. With precious little success...

Comedy

Globelink News's new owner, Sir Royston Merchant, wants a more sensationalist view of the news. Yuppie Gus Hedges heads up the transformation, and walks all over nervous news editor George Dent...

Media mogul Sir Roysten Merchant takes over Globelink News

First shown: Thu 9 Aug 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 1 - A New Dawn

In an effort to boost ratings, Gus presents Henry with a new partner: Sally Smedley

First shown: Thu 16 Aug 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 2 - Sally's Arrival

George has to decide whether to run a negative story about Sir Roysten

First shown: Thu 23 Aug 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 3 - A Clash of Interests

Alex has to decide where her loyalties lie when her ex-husband is implicated in a scandal

First shown: Thu 30 Aug 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 4 - A Blast from the Past

Henry's interview technique fails to work its magic on a government minister

First shown: Thu 6 Sep 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 5 - Old Father Time

Special Branch raid the station

First shown: Thu 13 Sep 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 6 - Sex, Lies and Videotape

George asks some important questions. Can journalism be unbiased? Where are his pills?

First shown: Thu 20 Sep 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 7 - The New Approach

Gus attempts to introduce an austerity drive at the station

First shown: Thu 27 Sep 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 8 - The Root of All Evil

An execution proves less telegenic than Damien had hoped

First shown: Thu 4 Oct 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 9 - Death, Disaster 'N Damien

The news team secures an interview with the Prime Minister

First shown: Thu 11 Oct 1990 | 25 mins

Series 1 Episode 10 - The Big Day

Advertisement