Wide Alternative Election Debate

Channel 4 adds raft of comedians and top TV talent to line-up for Alternative Election Night

Category: News Release

On Thursday night as the nation waits with bated breath to see who will lead the country into the new decade, Channel 4 is hosting a live eight-hour Alternative Election Night show.

Hosted by Krishnan Guru-Murthy and Katherine Ryan along with Rylan Clark-Neal, who will be sense-checking results, an eclectic mix of the country’s biggest political figures and sharpest comedic talent will be in the studio to tell the dramatic story as it unfolds, with top-class analysis and some much-needed laughs.

In the studio will be exclusive heavyweight political guests including ex-Home Secretary Amber Rudd and former Labour Deputy Leader Tom Watson, who will give their take on developments. 

Added to the line-up are:  Stanley Johnson, Rachel Johnson, Rory Stewart, Michael Portillo, Ed Vaizey, Heidi Allen, Brain Paddick, Magid Magid, Kate Forbes MSP in the studio, with down the line interviews with Ann Widdecombe, Jess Philips, Hilary Benn, Anna Soubry, Luciana Berger and Crispin Blunt.

Joining the political bigwigs will be a host comedians including: Jimmy Carr, Nish Kumar, Henning Wehn, Geoff Norcott, Sophie Willan and Tez Ilyas.  Plus Lee & Dean; Derry Girls actress Nicola Coughlan; star of Ru Paul’s Drag Race, UK Baga Chipz; winner of The Circle, Tim and Gogglebox’s Tapper family.

As previously announced, Clare Balding will have the results as they happen, Matt Forde will run the Alternative News Desk and the inimitable Rob Rinder will be out-and-about assessing the mood on the ground.

Channel 4 News Political Editor Gary Gibbon will have all the breaking news and detailed analysis. And a team of correspondents will be stationed at the most important counts to assess exactly what’s going on up and down the country, as the worlds of politics and comedy come together for what is set to be one of the most explosive and momentous nights in our modern history.

Included from Channel 4 News will be Andy Davies, Clare Fallon, Ciaran Jenkins, Victoria MacDonald, Fatima Manji, Darshna Soni and Alex Thomson. 

Produced by ITN Productions and Expectation, the coverage will be live on Channel 4 from 9.55pm.