6 Dec 2013

World Cup 2014: tough draw for England

England face a tough group D in the 2014 football World Cup in Brazil after they were drawn to play Italy, Uruguay and Costa Rica. England, Italy and Uruguay have all won the tournament before.

The draw for the groups of the World Cup in 2014 has taken place in Brazil.

England has been placed in Group D with Uruguay, Costa Rica and Italy.

The full draw listings are below. The first matches start in June 2014.

Group A

  • Brazil
  • Croatia
  • Mexico
  • Cameroon

Group B

  • Spain
  • Netherlands
  • Chile
  • Australia

Group C

  • Colombia
  • Greece
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Japan

Group D

  • Uruguay
  • Costa Rica
  • England
  • Italy

Group E

  • Switzerland
  • Ecuador
  • France
  • Honduras

Group F

  • Argentina
  • Bosnia-Herzegovina
  • Iran
  • Nigeria

Group G

  • Germany
  • Portugal
  • Ghana
  • USA

Group H

  • Belgium
  • Algeria
  • Russia
  • Korea Republic

FA Chairman Greg Dyke’s reaction to England’s World Cup draw is getting a lot of attention on social media. Make of this what you will: