21 Jul 2013

Chris Froome wins the Tour de France

Chris Froome crosses the finishing line in Paris to win the 100th Tour de France after dominating the race for three weeks.

Chris Froome on the final stage of the Tour de France (Getty)

The win means Britain has produced two riders who have won the Tour in consecutive years after Sir Bradley Wiggins‘ victory in 2012.

Froome, 28, led this year’s race by more than five minutes going into the final stage and was not challenged by other riders on the traditional procession into Paris.

The winning margin is the biggest since 1997, when Jan Ullrich beat Richard Virenque by 9 minutes, 9 seconds. But Ullrich has since admitted to doping and Virenque also confessed to using performance-enhancers.

Lance Armstrong had larger margins of victory than Froome but all seven of the Texan’s wins were stripped from him last year for doping, his name erased from the Tour’s official history.

None of the100th Tour’s podium finishers- Froome, Colombian Nairo Quintana and Spaniard Joaquim Rodriguez – have failed a drug test or been directly implicated in any of cycling’s many doping scandals.

Six-time Olympic cycling champion Sir Chris Hoy called the win a “huge achievement” and said Britain’s back-to-back wins in the event are “monumental”.

On Sunday Froome was honoured by David Kinjah, the leader of the cycling club the Briton joined while growing up in Kenya.

Kinjah gathered a group of around 300 cyclists to parade through the streets of Nairobi to celebrate the Team Sky rider’s success.