24 Feb 2011

Channel 4 News wins three RTS Television Journalism Awards

Channel 4 News picks up three big awards from the Royal Television Society – with Jon Snow named Presenter of the Year.

Award-winners: Gary Gibbon, Jon Snow and Inigo Gilmore

Political Editor Gary Gibbon was named Specialist Journalist of the Year, beating competition from his counterpart at ITV News, Tom Bradby, and Sky News’s City Editor Mark Kleinman.

His entry comprised memorable moments from his critically-acclaimed election coverage, including his film with retiring MPs, his helpful advice to Conservative MPs finding their way back into Downing Street and the post-leaders debate moment where he reminded Peter Mandelson and George Osborne of their yachting holiday.

For the third time, Jon Snow was named Presenter of the Year – the judges praised “some brilliant writing” and noted a year of great interviews. His interview with Zac Goldsmith formed part of his entry as did his coverage of the Haiti earthquake, and his return to Haiti at the end of last year.

Inigo Gilmore won the Independent Award for his films on Haitian baby Landina for Channel 4 News. Inigo’s reporting traced Landina’s journey from a hospital in Port-au-Prince to London for life-saving treatment, and her eventual reunion with her mother.

Jim Gray, the Editor of Channel 4 News, said: “It’s incredibly rewarding to see a record number of nominations come to fruition with these awards.
“Gary and Jon have both had brilliant years, and Inigo’s films allowed us to explore some of the complex issues associated with providing aid to disaster-stricken countries. As ever, the whole team should feel proud that we continue to be recognised for outstanding news and analysis.”

Other nominees included Kris Jepson (Young Journalist), coverage from Chile and interviews with the Chandlers in Somalia (News coverage – International), coverage of Raoul Moat’s rampage (News coverage – Home), Jonathan Miller (Journalist of the Year), Dai Baker (Camera Operator) the investigation into Tamiflu (Independent) and the 7pm bulletin for “Programme of the Year”.

Full list of award winners