8 May 2013

Alex Ferguson: a glittering CV in British football

Sir Alex Ferguson’s haul of 38 major trophies since he arrived at Old Trafford in 1986 marks his tenure in English football as the most successful of all time.

The Scottish manager, who took over from Ron Atkinson in November 1986, has won 38 trophies including this season’s Premier League title.

His trophies include 13 titles, two Champions League crowns, five FA cups and five league cups.

Ferguson’s crowning achievement came in the 1998-99 season, when he became the first manager of a British side to win the treble: the Premier League championship, the FA Cup and the European Cup.

It marked the start of a stretch in which United won three consecutive Premier League titles, and four in five years.

Milestone victory

In 2003, Ferguson received the manager of the decade award presented by the FA Premier League to mark the first 10 years of the Premiership.

Ferguson again led his side to three straight Premier League titles from 2007-09, along with European Cup and Fifa Club World Cup victories in 2008, and back-to-back League Cups in 2009-10.

In December 2010, he surpassed the 24-year-plus tenure of Sir Matt Busby to become the longest-serving manager in United’s history. Fittingly, he ended the season with another milestone victory that gave United a record 19 Premier League championships.