Drama

Channel 4 Drama is committed to being the most innovative, high-profile drama commissioning department in the UK.

Channel 4 Drama’s aim is to be the most original, talked about drama commissioning department in the UK. Commissioning new work from both established and up and coming drama writers, our aim is to be a surprising, thought-provoking, entertaining alternative to the drama output on other channels.

We encourage new and established talent to come to us to with their most original work, whether that is Jack Thorne’s state of the nation thriller Kiri, or Lucy Kirkwood’s take on global politics with Chimerica, or James Graham’s darkly comic dramatization of the referendum with Brexit: The Uncivil War. Through drama, we are always encouraging audiences to look at the world in a new and different way.

Our output on C4 encompasses a huge range of work which this year comprises of continuing series (Hollyoaks), brand new series (Traitors, Pure), returning series (Ackley Bridge, End of the F**king World), mini-series (Chimerica, The Virtues, The Light) and single dramas (Brexit). We are currently evolving our strategy for E4.

Discovering and nurturing new and diverse talent remains a huge priority for us. Each year we run or sponsor a number of new talent development programmes (4STORIES, 4SCREENWRITING, THE CHANNEL 4 PLAYWRIGHT SCHEME and THE CHANNEL4 & NORTHUMBRIA UNIVERSITY WRITING FOR TV AWARDS). Authorship is everything for C4 drama, so developing original voices in writing and film-making, as well as giving established talent the opportunity to work in a bespoke way, will always sit at the centre of what we do. You can find out more about those schemes by visiting our 4NEW WRITERS webpage.

We are always excited to receive submissions from new writers, however these must be submitted via an agent or production company. Please direct all submissions to Kate Adori. Unfortunately Channel 4 cannot accept unsolicited scripts from members of the public other than via the 4SCREENWRITING and 4STORIES initiatives. Please allow at least 28 days for us to come back to you with a response.

Drama

Head of Drama: Caroline Hollick

GENRE ASSISTANT: Lauren Blumfield

0113 512 6299

chollick@channel4.co.uk

Head of Development: Gemma Boswell

GENRE ASSISTANT: Lucy Haig

020 7306 8344

gboswell@channel4.co.uk

Commissioning Editor: Lee Mason

GENRE ASSISTANT: Lucy Haig

020 7306 8344

lemason@channel4.co.uk

Commissioning Editor: Gwawr Lloyd (maternity leave)

GENRE ASSISTANT: Lauren Blumfield

0113 512 6299

glloyd@channel4.co.k

 

Commissioning Editor: Gwen Gorst (maternity cover)

GENRE ASSISTANT: Lauren Blumfield

0113 512 6299

ggorst@channel4.co.uk 

Commissioning Executive: Rebecca Holdsworth

GENRE ASSISTANT: Lauren Blumfield

0113 512 6299

rholdsworth@channel4.co.uk

Development Executive: Kate Adori

CONTACT: 020 7306 8187

kadori@channel4.co.uk

Development Assistant: Danyele Seignoret

CONTACT: 020 7306 8363

dseignoret@channel4.co.uk

Genre Assistant: Lauren Blumfield

CONTACT: 0113 512 6299

lblumfield@channel4.co.uk

Genre Assistant: Lucy Haig

CONTACT:

020 7306 8344

lhaig@channel4.co.uk