We no longer support this version of Internet Explorer. Please update your browser for a better experience of All4.com. For more information visit our FAQs

Section navigation

Episode Guides

Drama starring Julianna Margulies as a politician's wife who has transformed herself into a career woman in the legal world after a scandal surrounding her husband turned her life upside down

About the Show

Drama starring Julianna Margulies as a politician's wife who has transformed herself into a career woman in the legal world after a scandal surrounding her husband turned her life upside down

Series 1 Summary

Alicia Florrick is a wife and mother whose life is turned upside down when her husband Peter is involved in a very public sex and political corruption scandal that lands him in prison. Pushing aside the betrayal and crushing public humiliation, Alicia accepts full responsibility for her family and goes back to work as a defence attorney.

Starting over isn't easy but gradually Alicia gains in confidence and transforms herself from a politician's scorned wife to resilient career woman.

  • Episode 1 - Pilot

    Episode 1 - Pilot

    Alicia goes back to work as a defence attorney at a prestigious and highly competitive Chicago law firm. She is soon landed with a tricky retrial involving a woman accused of murdering her husband.

  • Episode 2 - Stripped

    Episode 2 - Stripped

    Defence Attorney Alicia - Julianna Margulies - represents a stripper who was raped at a stag party and may have previously been abused by her husband

  • Episode 3 - Home

    Episode 3 - Home

    Alicia represents a boy who has been accused of murder, but he is the son of a former friend who snubbed her as soon as news of her husband's scandal broke out.

  • Episode 4 - Fixed

    Episode 4 - Fixed

    Alicia finds evidence of possible wrongdoing on the jury's part in a case against a major pharmaceutical company. Meanwhile, Peter's legal team work on his appeal.

  • Episode 5 - Crash

    Episode 5 - Crash

    Alicia represents three widows of train engineers who are suing their husbands' former employers to prove that a fatal crash was the company's responsibility, not the victims'

  • Episode 6 - Conjugal

    Episode 6 - Conjugal

    Alicia works on the appeal of a death row inmate who's accused of killing a police officer. But she must swallow her pride and visit Peter in prison for information.

  • Episode 7 - Unorthodox

    Episode 7 - Unorthodox

    Alicia represents the daughter of one of the partners at her law firm. She finds herself attracted to a colleague she's working with on the case who has an unusual way of defending their client.

  • Episode 8 - Unprepared

    Episode 8 - Unprepared

    Alicia discovers the culprit in an arson case that she is working on. Later, Alicia is caught off guard when she's asked to testify on Peter's behalf.

  • Episode 9 - Threesome

    Episode 9 - Threesome

    Alicia represents a senior partner in the law firm when he is arrested. Elsewhere, Alicia begins to doubt Peter's innocence in his corruption case after hearing evidence to the contrary.

  • Episode 10 - Lifeguard

    Episode 10 - Lifeguard

    Alicia investigates a judge after he overturns a straightforward plea case. Diane is given an offer she can't refuse.

  • Episode 11 - Infamy

    Episode 11 - Infamy

    The firm represent a widower whose wife killed herself after being wrongfully accused of murdering her child. Later, Alicia represents her husband's enemy in court.

  • Episode 12 - Painkiller

    Episode 12 - Painkiller

    The star of the school football team dies after taking an overdose of painkillers. Alicia represents the doctor who prescribed the medication in court.

  • Episode 13 - Bad

    Episode 13 - Bad

    Alicia defends Colin Sweeney, a wealthy client who was cleared of killing his wife but is still largely thought of as her murderer. Peter considers an offer from Childs.

  • Episode 14 - Hi

    Episode 14 - Hi

    Alicia helps with a murder case when a client discovers that her babysitter has been killed in her home, leaving her husband as the chief suspect

  • Episode 15 - Bang

    Episode 15 - Bang

    Alicia and the children adjust to having Peter back home. At work, Alicia teams up with Diane to help a client testify against her wealthy husband.

  • Episode 16 - Fleas

    Episode 16 - Fleas

    Alicia represents a client who's accused of leaking a court document to a drug lord who went on to murder a star witness. An unlikely source spreads family gossip.

  • Episode 17 - Heart

    Episode 17 - Heart

    Will and Alicia attend an emergency hearing in a hospital when a pregnant woman is told her insurance doesn't cover the operation that her unborn child needs

  • Episode 18 - Doubt

    Episode 18 - Doubt

    Emotions run high when Alicia and Will, who recently kissed, represent a student who is accused of killing her flatmate. Will their feelings get the better of them?

  • Episode 19 - Boom

    Episode 19 - Boom

    Alicia and Peter have a bust up after she discovers the real reason he has been taking the family to church. Can Alicia forgive her husband?

  • Episode 20 - Mock

    Episode 20 - Mock

    Grace and Zach get Peter out of a tight scrape with the police. Alicia tries to help her building manager Simran, but he lands in further trouble with immigration.

  • Episode 21 - Unplugged

    Episode 21 - Unplugged

    Alicia represents the wife of a rock star who wants a divorce, but things take a dramatic turn when the husband has a motorbike accident and ends up in a coma.

  • Episode 22 - Hybristophilia

    Episode 22 - Hybristophilia

    Alicia works on a manslaughter case involving a person who stalks criminals. Will the charges against Peter be dropped?

  • Episode 23 - Running

    Episode 23 - Running

    Alicia works with an undercover cop whose colleagues have been conspiring with gang members to deal illegal weapons. Things take a tragic turn when he is killed two hours after testifying in court.