E4 Commissions Tattoo Artist Of The Year Competition

E4 has commissioned Studio Lambert to search the country to find the nation’s best all-round professional tattooist in E4’s Tattoo Artist of the Year, it was announced today.

Following on from the smash hit Tattoo Fixers franchise, E4’s Tattoo Artist of the Year will see professional tattoo artists from across the country compete in different challenges designed to push the artists to their tattooing limits and test of range of their tattooing skills. Judging their creative eye, ingenuity and talent are Jay Hutton and Rose Hardy, both accomplished and successful tattoo artists with very different styles.

In the 6x60 series, the tattoo artists will take each other on in a series of tasks, designed to test their inking ability. Each episode consists of two different challenge briefs; the first based around a theme; the second around a style of tattooing – it could be Japanese, Traditional, Realism, Surrealism or Watercolour. Each week, an artist will be eliminated as the competition heats up until only one remains and is crowned champion and given the esteemed title of Tattoo Artist of the Year.

All three series of Tattoo Fixers have won the slot on digital channels for both individuals and 16 – 34s.

Dom Bird, Channel 4’s Head of Formats said, “We’re thrilled to be able to bring this battle of the best professional tattooists to the E4 audience.”

Studio Lambert’s Creative Director Tim Harcourt said: “The appreciation of tattoo artistry shows no sign of abating. E4’s Tattoo Artist of the Year will showcase our nation’s talent for tattooing, their brilliance, originality and creativity. This series is a great platform for our best up and coming artists to show their passion for ink. Additionally this competitive format is an exciting and dramatic way for viewers to discover the many different styles of tattoo art on offer.”

E4’s Tattoo Artist of the Year is produced by Studio Lambert and was commissioned by Dom Bird, Head of Formats and Simone Haywood, Commissioning Editor, Formats for Channel 4. Tim Harcourt, Matt J Smith and Suzanne McGairl are the executive producers; and Aaron Morgan is the series producer for Studio Lambert.

Related Links


Login to view contacts


Register for Press Access